top of page

What are the 6 principles of ISO?

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is an independent, non-governmental organization that develops and publishes international standards for various industries and sectors.

ISO has developed several standards that provide guidance on best practices and principles for organizations to follow. These standards are based on a set of core principles that organizations can adopt to improve their performance and effectiveness. The six principles of ISO are:

  1. Customer focus: The first principle of ISO is customer focus. Organizations must understand the needs and expectations of their customers and strive to meet or exceed them. This includes providing high-quality products or services, delivering them on time, and providing excellent customer service.

  2. Leadership: The second principle of ISO is leadership. Leaders in the organization must set the direction and vision for the organization, and ensure that all employees understand and are committed to achieving the organization's goals. Leaders must also create a culture of continuous improvement and encourage innovation and creativity.

  3. Involvement of people: The third principle of ISO is the involvement of people. Employees at all levels of the organization should be involved in decision-making and problem-solving. This includes providing training and development opportunities for employees and creating a safe and supportive work environment that fosters collaboration and teamwork.

  4. Process approach: The fourth principle of ISO is the process approach. Organizations should identify and manage their processes in a systematic and structured manner to achieve their objectives. This includes understanding the inputs, activities, outputs, and feedback for each process, and continually monitoring and improving them.

  5. Continuous improvement: The fifth principle of ISO is continuous improvement. Organizations should strive to improve their performance and effectiveness by regularly reviewing and evaluating their processes, products, and services. This includes setting objectives and targets for improvement, and implementing measures to monitor and measure progress towards those targets.

  6. Evidence-based decision making: The sixth principle of ISO is evidence-based decision making. Organizations should base their decisions on factual information and analysis, rather than assumptions or personal opinions. This includes collecting and analyzing data, and using that information to make informed decisions that are aligned with the organization's goals and objectives.

These six principles of ISO are interrelated and provide a framework for organizations to improve their performance and achieve their goals.

By adopting these principles, organizations can create a culture of excellence and continuous improvement, and provide high-quality products and services that meet the needs and expectations of their customers.


Related Services:

More Services:


3 views0 comments


bottom of page